Your comments
When deleting a local worktree branch, e.g. from the main repository, SmartGit 26.1 will first ask you to confirm the removal of the worktree.
Right, with fixed truncation, this won't work. Overall, this sounds like a more elaborate and configurable post-processing of Git Notes content to determine what should be displayed.
> Additionally, it's annoying that the branches line is, for some reason, pushed to the bottom.
This depends on how important you consider the Notes information. The notes that SmartGit creates are usually something you trigger manually, and you don't want them buried behind a long list of branch details that are always computed. So it's reasonable to show them before.
These auto-generated Notes that you encounter seem to be less important (even when cleaned) and should be displayed later. So it sounds like another option would be needed.
A possible quick workaround we could implement for 26.1 is a Low-Level Property that truncates notes at N characters. Would that be acceptable for you?
Speaking as an individual, not officially on behalf of Syntevo:
Just my 2 cents: for the last couple of months, I have been delegating this kind of branch-splitting work to coding agents, and they perform reasonably well -- roughly at human level for these tasks. I am using GPT-5.4 high or xHigh for this.
So Check for New Version didn't give you 25.1.029? Then please try Help|Check for Latest Build.
Please try version 25.1.029 using Help|Check for New Version (or Help|Check for Latest Build), where this issue should already be resolved.
SmartGit 26.1.011 Preview now supports SHA-256: https://www.smartgit.dev/download/preview/
SmartGit 26.1.011 Preview now supports reftables: https://www.smartgit.dev/download/preview/
Customer support service by UserEcho
This is not about nagware. We are simply being rather cautious about reminding users that their SmartGit version may not run perfectly on their particular macOS version and such a setup is in general unsupported. Our goal is certainly not to force users to upgrade if SmartGit works fine for them.
There is currently no simple "Don't show again" option because we are concerned that users might dismiss the warning too easily and later run into problems with an unsupported macOS version, having forgotten about the warning.
To address this, we have added a new system property in build 26.1.054 that allows you to suppress this warning. Please update to this build using Help | Check for Latest Build and give it a try.
Add the following line to the
smartgit.propertiesfile in your SmartGit settings directory:You can find the location of your settings directory here:
https://docs.syntevo.com/SmartGit/Latest/Manual/Installation/Installation-and-Files#default-path-of-smartgits-settings-directory
After restarting SmartGit, the "Unsupported OS Version" warning should no longer appear for recent macOS versions.